Founder’s Award Nominees Announced

Seven Mountains Scout Camp — The Founder’s Award was created to honor and recognize those Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to their lodge. Those Arrowmen who demonstrates to fellow Arrowmen that he or she memorializes in his or her everyday life the spirit of achievement as described by founder E. Urner Goodman and co-founder Carroll A. Edson.

The award is a bronze medallion bearing the images of founder E. Urner Goodman, and co-founder Carroll A. Edson. The reverse of the medallion reads “For he who serves his fellows, is of all his fellows, greatest,” which was Goodman’s prime reason for starting the Order of the Arrow.

Monaken Lodge awards two Founder’s Awards each year: to one Youth and one Adult.

The nominees for the Founders’ Award were selected at the Spring Ordeal in May.

The three youth nominated are:

  • Zeb Smoyer
  • Bailey Hockenberry
  • Dawlton Nelson

The three adults nominated are:

  • Dan Swarm
  • Brenda Harrison
  • Bob Rhoads

At the conclusion of the Fall Ordeal, the adults present at the ordeal will vote on the youth nominated while the youth present at the ordeal will vote on the adult nominated.

The recipients of this year’s award will be announced at the Family Banquet

A complete biography of the nominees will be released this summer.

Scroll to top